DARIEN, IL – Two students have been chosen as winners of the 2018 American Academy of Sleep Medicine Foundation (AASM Foundation) “Make Time 2 Sleep” High School Video Contest, which focused on motivating teens to prioritize the importance of sleep in their lives.

The 2018 contest was entered by 43 students, who competed from across the country for the grand prize of $1,000, second-place prize of $500, and People’s Choice prize of $250. Each prize is split between the winning student and his or her school.

Entries were evaluated and judged by a panel of sleep medicine physicians and researchers for originality and video quality, as well as the appropriateness, relevance and accuracy of the message. The People’s Choice winner was selected via public, online voting.

Joseph O’Brien – 1st Place

“The Power of Sleep”

Michelle Kwon – 2nd Place & People’s Choice

Glenbard South High School
Glen Ellyn, IL
“Importance of sleep!”

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine recommends that teens should sleep 8 to 10 hours per night on a regular basis to promote optimal health. However, CDC data show that 68 percent of high school students report sleeping 7 hours or less on an average school night. The National Healthy Sleep Awareness Project launched the Sleep Recharges You campaign to promote optimal health among teens.

About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine Foundation

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine Foundation is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) charitable and scientific organization that was established in 1998 by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM). As the leader in supporting sleep research and education, the AASM Foundation has invested in the future of sleep medicine by distributing more than $9 million in awards to support important projects to promote sleep health. To contribute to the AASM Foundation, you can make an online donation.