Research Awards 2018-03-14T15:18:12+00:00

Research Awards

Career Development Awards

Focused Projects Award for Junior Investigators

Physicians (MD or DO) who are board-eligible or board-certified in sleep medicine and have completed their sleep medicine fellowship within the past 10 years, are eligible to apply, as are researchers (PhD or other doctoral degree) who are within 10 years of completing their post-doctoral training or who are current post-doctoral fellows.

ABSM Junior Faculty Award

This award is for physicians (MD or DO) with faculty appointments who have completed an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) approved sleep medicine fellowship to apply for the American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM).

Bridge to Success Award for Early Career Investigators

These awards are designed to provide ‘bridge’ funding to promising early-career sleep scientists who have applied for a career development award such as a K-award grant from the NIH, a Career Development Award from the VA, or an equivalent career development grant from another federal or non-federal entity.

Bridge to Success Award for Mid-Career / Senior Investigators

These awards are targeted to mid-level and senior investigators in sleep and biological rhythms who are in need of 'bridge' funding while re-applying for research support.

Physician Scientist Training Award

Physicians (MD or DO) who are certified in sleep medicine by a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties or have completed their sleep medicine fellowship within the past 10 years, or who are currently enrolled in an ACGME-accredited sleep medicine fellowship program are eligible to apply.

Investigator-Initiated Awards

Focused Projects Award – Humanitarian/Educational

Individuals such as physicians (MD, DO), psychologists, individuals with doctoral degrees (PhDs), advanced practice registered nurses, physicians’ assistants, or other health care providers/educators and charitable organizations are eligible to apply.

Strategic Research Award

Individuals who possess a master’s level degree or higher and have access to the necessary resources (including the proposed patient population), facilities, and other resources needed to perform the proposed work are eligible to apply.