About the AASM Foundation

Founded in 1998, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine Foundation (AASM Foundation) is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) charitable and scientific organization that was established by the AASM. Formerly the American Sleep Medicine Foundation (ASMF), the AASM Foundation has invested in the future of sleep medicine by supporting more than 200 awards totaling over $13.5 million in funding. Our portfolio includes Strategic Research Awards (SRAs), Focused Projects Humanitarian/Educational Awards and Career Development Awards (CDAs).

We rely on the generous support of donors who believe that scientific and clinical research discoveries can have a life-changing impact on health and safety. Please donate to the AASM Foundation today.


Promote discoveries that advance the understanding of sleep for healthier lives


Healthier lives through better sleep.


Operating rules of the Foundation last revised April 2018. Read the bylaws.

Board of Directors

Jennifer Martin, PhD

Raman Malhotra, MD

Steve Van Hout
Executive Director

R. Nisha Aurora, MD, MHS

Kelly Carden, MD, MBA

Douglas Kirsch, MD

David Kristo, MD

Eric Olson, MD

Kannan Ramar, MD

Carol L. Rosen, MD

Ilene Rosen, MD, MS

James Rowley, MD

Anita Shelgikar, MD, MHPE

View Past Board Members

2017 Annual Report

Detailed summary of Foundation activity in 2017.

View 2017 Report
View All Reports

Affiliated Sites

Sites affiliated with the AASM Foundation.

View Affiliates

AASM Foundation Affiliated Sites

As the leading voice in the sleep field, the AASM sets standards and promotes excellence in sleep medicine health care, education, and research.

Designed for patients looking to learn more about healthy sleep and sleep disorders.

The largest annual meeting devoted entirely to sleep research and sleep medicine.

SLEEP is a peer-reviewed, international journal of sleep and circadian science, and is the official publication of the Sleep Research Society (SRS).

Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine.