The AASM Foundation congratulates the 33 junior researchers selected to attend the 2019 Young Investigators Research Forum to be held April 10-12, 2019 in Bethesda, Maryland. This unique educational event will allow the selected young investigators to interact with senior sleep investigators, peers, National Institutes of Health (NIH) program officers, and understand how to further develop their careers in clinical and translational sleep research.

“These young investigators are the next generation of sleep and circadian scientists who will take on a leading role in addressing unanswered scientific questions that will improve care for patients,” said Dr. Alberto Ramos, Chair of the 2019 Young Investigators Research Forum. “The AASM Foundation, Young Investigators Research Forum Faculty, and I look forward to equipping them with the tools needed to advance their careers in sleep research through this important educational event.”

2019 Young Investigators Research Forum Attendees

Ritwick Agrawal, MD, MS
Baylor College of Medicine/ Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center

Mansoureh Barzegar, MS
Louisiana State University of Health Science Center

Jennifer Blankenship, PhD
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Omonigho Bubu, MD, MPH, PhD
NYU Langone Health

Gwendolyn Carlson, PhD
VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System

Christopher Carosella, MD
The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Amit Chopra, MD
Allegheny Health Network

Ashley Curtis, PhD
University of Missouri

Sammy Dhaliwal, MSc, MS
George Washington University

Denise Dewald, MD
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Brynn Dredla, MD
Mayo Clinic

Justina Gamache, MD
University of Washington

Stephanie Griggs, PhD, RN
Yale University School of Nursing

Jessica Hamilton, PhD
University of Pittsburgh

Mojdeh Heavner, PharmD
University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Steve Holfinger, MD, MS
The Ohio State University

Erica Jansen, PhD
University of Michigan

Sonya Kaur, PhD
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Monica Kelly, PhD
Greater Los Angeles VA Healthcare System

David Kim, MD
Johns Hopkins University

Daniel Lee, PhD
California Institute of Technology

Xiaoyu Li, ScD
Harvard Medical School

Junjie Liu, MD, PhD
Yale University School of Medicine

Ivy Mason, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Anna Mullins, PhD
The Icahn School of Medicine

Jennifer Newitt, MD
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Ankit Parekh, PhD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Rachel Rowe, PhD
University of Arizona

Robert Stretch, MD
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Nancy Stewart, DO
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Samuel Taylor, Jr., MD, MS
Virginia Commonwealth University

Jason Yu, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Ivan Wu, PhD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center


Our goal is to create better lives through healthy sleep. 100% of donations go directly to the AASM Foundation’s award programs to support strategic research projects and further develop the research careers of sleep scientists.