Faculty at the University of Miami (UM) Miller School of Medicine and Miami VA Healthcare System joined together to make a special $1,600 donation to honor three fellows that recently completed their year-long sleep medicine fellowship training program.

“I would like to say thank you to the sleep fellowship faculty at the UM and VA for such a generous and thoughtful graduation gift supporting the wonderful world of sleep through the AASM Foundation. The sleep medicine attending physicians I trained with demonstrated by example how to be an influence in the sleep community by active involvement with healthcare societies such as the AASM. After graduating, I am so happy to follow their lead by becoming an active participant in the sleep community and a supporter of the AASM Foundation.” – Kori Ascher, DO

UM Sleep Medicine Fellows (from left to right)
Eric Geil, MD; Christian Agudelo, MD; Kori Ascher, DO

Participating Faculty

UM Pulmonary Critical Care

Alejandro Chediak, MD

Alexandre Abreu, MD

Shirin Shafazand, MD, MS

UM Neurology

Salim Dib, MD

Alberto Ramos, MD, MSPH


Carlos Torre, MD

UM/VA Neurology

Douglas Wallace, MD

Hao Cheng, MD

Donations can be made in honor of friends and colleagues to celebrate a career milestone or as a tribute in memory of someone special. For more information about donations to the AASM Foundation please email giving@aasm.org or call 630-737-9725.