Young Investigators Research Forum

Application cycle for YIRF 2020 opens September 2019*

Scheduled Issue Date: September, 2019*
Scheduled Application Due Date: November, 2019*
Scheduled Award Selection Notification: January 2020*
Scheduled YIRF 2020 Date: April 1-3 2020*

The 3-day research forum is designed to aid the career development of promising young investigators in clinical and translational sleep medicine research. Successful applicants will be selected based on past research productivity and future promise in sleep medicine research. Travel and lodging will be coordinated and paid by the AASM Foundation for selected applicants.

*Exact dates will be finalized when the request for applications is issued. All dates are subject to change by the AASM Foundation Board of Directors.

This research retreat is aimed at providing guidance, tactics, and strategies to better position young investigators for a successful career in clinical sleep research. The aims are to:

  • Foster the pursuit of clinical research in sleep medicine by junior faculty and fellows training in sleep medicine
  • Disseminate vital information required for pursuing a career in research
  • Serve as a primer for obtaining grant funding
  • Provide an opportunity to network and establish extramural research mentorship

The YIRF will provide an opportunity for collegial interaction with other young investigators and established senior investigators across the broad spectrum of clinical sleep research, as well as with National Institutes of Health (NIH) scientific and program officers.

Upon completion of the YIRF, young investigators will be able to:

  • Understand how to build a successful career in sleep research, including how to effectively write specific aims, foster collaborations and develop mentorship relationships
  • Understand the policies and various mechanisms for sleep research funding
  • Gain insight on the grant peer review structure and process
  • Further develop specific aims for a grant proposal
  • Early-career researchers (residents, clinical fellows, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty) at U.S.-based institutions who are actively engaged and planning to continue a career in clinical or translational sleep medicine research.
  • Physicians (MD or DO) or researchers (PhD or other similar doctoral degree).
  • Must members of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and/or Sleep Research Society.

The YIRF is a 3-day event and consists of didactic presentations, workshops, and small group sessions covering study design, presentation skills, grantsmanship, a mock grant review, and the mentor-mentee relationship. As active participants, young investigators will have the opportunity to present their current research, provide feedback on each other’s research proposals and review a grant.

Below, you’ll find the program based on the 2019 YIRF. The program will be similar but is subject to change slightly as we determine the most valuable topics for the research forum.

Download 2019 YIRF Agenda

Travel and lodging expenses will be paid by the AASM Foundation for up to a maximum of $1,200 dollars per young investigator. Selected applicants will be provided detailed information for booking flights and reserving lodging accommodations.

2019 YIRF Young Investigators and Faculty

Ritwick Agrawal, MD, MS  Baylor College of Medicine/Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
Mansoureh Barzegar, MS  Louisiana State University of Health Science Center
Jennifer Blankenship, PhD  University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Omonigho Bubu, MD, MPH, PhD  NYU Langone Health
Gwendolyn Carlson, PhD  VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
Amit Chopra, MD  Allegheny Health Network
Ashley Curtis, PhD  University of Missouri
Sammy Dhaliwal, MSc, MS  George Washington University
Denise Dewald, MD  Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Brynn Dredla, MD  Mayo Clinic
Justina Gamache, MD  University of Washington
Stephanie Griggs, PhD, RN  Yale University School of Nursing
Jessica Hamilton, PhD  University of Pittsburgh
Mojdeh Heavner, PharmD  University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
Steve Holfinger, MD, MS  The Ohio State University
Erica Jansen, PhD  University of Michigan
Sonya Kaur, PhD  University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Monica Kelly, PhD  Greater Los Angeles VA Healthcare System
David Kim, MD  Johns Hopkins University
Daniel Lee, PhD  California Institute of Technology
Xiaoyu Li, ScD  Harvard Medical School
Junjie Liu, MD, PhD  Yale University School of Medicine
Ivy Mason, PhD  Harvard Medical School
Anna Mullins, PhD  The Icahn School of Medicine
Jennifer Newitt, MD  University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Ankit Parekh, PhD  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Rachel Rowe, PhD  University of Arizona
Robert Stretch, MD  David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Nancy Stewart, DO  University of Nebraska Medical Center
Samuel Taylor, Jr., MD, MS  Virginia Commonwealth University
Jason Yu, MD  University of Pennsylvania
Ivan Wu, PhD  University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Alberto Ramos, MD, MSPH (Chair) University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Azizi Seixas, PhD (Vice Chair) NYU Langone Health
M. Safwan Badr, MD Wayne State University
Jennifer L. Martin, PhD (President, AASM Foundation)  University of California, Los Angeles and VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
Jason C. Ong, PhD Northwestern University
Neomi Shah, MD, MPH Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Ronald Szymusiak, PhD David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc University School of Medicine
Andrew W. Varga, MD, PhD Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Michael V. Vitiello, PhD Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington, Seattle

2018 YIRF Young Investigators and Faculty

Omavi Bailey, MD, MPH  University of Arizona
Sarah Ballou, PhD  Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Anuja Bandyopadhyay, MBBS  Indiana University School of Medicine
Priya Borker, MD Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Sergio Cananzi, PhD Louisiana State University Health Science Center
Cecilia Castro-Diehl, MD, DrPH Boston University
Diana Chirinos, PhD Northwestern University
Jonathan Elliott, PhD University of Portland
Danielle Goldfarb, MD Brown University Alpert Medical School
Jennifer Goldschmied, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Sasikanth Gorantla, MBBS University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria
Elias Karroum , MD, PhD George Washington University School of Medicine
Lynn Kataria, MD George Washington University School of Medicine
Ilia Kritikou, MD University of Pennsylvania
Vaishnavi Kundel, MD Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Younghoon Kwon, MD University of Virginia
Dominique Low, MD Johns Hopkins University
Jennifer Marsella , MD University of Rochester
Saif Mashaqi, MBBS University of North Dakota
Katherine Miller, PhD VA Palo Alto Health Care System
Brienne Miner, MD Yale University
Christopher Schmickl, MD, PhD Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Aarti Shakkottai, MD University of Michigan
Danica Slavish, PhD University of North Texas
Christine Spadola, PhD Harvard University
Allison Wilkerson, PhD Medical University of South Carolina
Lynn Marie Trotti, MD (Chair) Emory University
Alberto Ramos, MD (Vice Chair) University of Miami
M. Safwan Badr, MD Wayne State University
Ruth Benca, MD, PhD University of California, Irvine
Martica Hall, PhD University of Pittsburgh
Aaron Laposky, PhD National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Beth Malow, MD Vanderbilt University
Rachel Manber, PhD Stanford University
Jennifer Martin, PhD University of California, Los Angeles
Jason Ong, PhD Northwestern University
Sai Parthasarathy, MD University of Arizona
Michael Twery, PhD National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute